Banner Energy Star

What is ENERGY STAR Certification?

ENERGY STAR is the trusted, government-backed symbol for energy efficiency helping building owners save money and protect the environment through energy-efficient products and practices. Your building can earn ENERGY STAR certification just like the appliances with which we are familiar and save money, save energy, and help protect the environment by generating fewer greenhouse gas emissions that typical building.

ENERGY STAR certified buildings use an average of 35 percent less energy and are responsible for 35 percent fewer greenhouse gas emissions than average buildings.  They also cost $.54 less per square foot to operate and have higher rental and occupancy rates.  For more, see ten reasons to pursue the ENERGY STAR Certification.

ENERGY STAR Eligibility

1.  An ENERGY STAR score of 75 or greater

To be certified as ENERGY STAR, a building must meet strict energy performance standards set by EPA.  There is no charge by the EPA to apply.

A building must earn an ENERGY STAR score of 75 or higher.  This indicates that the building performs better than at least 75 percent of similar buildings nationwide.  Learn more about how the 1 – 100 ENERGY STAR score is calculated.

2.  The building’s performance must be verified by a third-party

There is no cost to apply for certification. However, you’ll need to get your application verified and stamped by a licensed Professional Engineer (PE) or Registered Architect (RA). This means they’ll need to sign off on a few things: your reported property use characteristics (including square footage of the building), your energy data, and whether each of the indoor environment criteria has been met. This requires a site inspection by the Licensed Professional.

3.  Certification is Annual

Certification is given on an annual basis, so a building must maintain its high performance to be certified year to year.

4.  Property Types Eligible for ENERGY STAR Certification

Not all property types qualify for ENERGY STAR certification.  See (link to page) for the property-types that can qualify.